Food / From My Table / Meal Prep

Veggie Based Meal Ideas

I talked about my “reset button” on Monday. Step one was increasing my fruits and vegetables that I purchased, prepped, packed and ate. I used some of what I purchased to make a few veggie based meals.

What that means to me is using meat as a “condiment”. I get asked all the time if I’m a vegetarian. Maybe because I’m a dietitian or maybe because I choose meat less often. I always reply that I am a “flexitarian”. Don’t get me wrong, meat is great and has a lot of nutrition packed in. I do like the balance between vegetarian and animal proteins though. Here are some of my veggie based meals lately.

I chopped up a bunch of green pepper, red pepper and onion. I planned to grill this with chicken for fajitas but I ended up throwing it all in the crock pot with fajita seasoning. It turned out pretty good! We had it with chopped tomato and corn tortillas charred on the stove top.

Garden veggie mini frittatas. I used 6 eggs, a splash of milk and veggies. Baked in a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes (until the middle is firm). These can be made with any type of veggie but I chose tomato, onion, pepper and kale. I don’t think I had any of these for breakfast! Super easy lunch and dinner.

Another easy meal from the freezer here. I used a whole bag of Trader Joe’s stir fry veggie mix. I added them to a bit with a bit of oil and finished with soy sauce. Chicken pot stickers and fruit on the side.

Fresh tomato sauce that I used with grilled cheese and over pasta. I cooked down the peeled tomatoes with onion, basil, dried oregano, salt and pepper. I did a quick puree with my immersion blender to finish.

So what do you think? Reset that healthy eating by making the change from meat as the main to meat on the side.

Thoughts?