From My Table / Meal Prep

Freezer Burritos

In college I used to love bean burritos from the quick convenience store in my dorm. I could grab them for lunch using my meal plan. But I always felt a bit guilty because they were on a white tortilla with who-knows-how-much sodium.

IMG_3150

So when I read this blog post from Tracy I thought it might be fun to re-create them!

IMG_3152

I LOVE having them in my freezer! They are super easy for lunches and stay cold all morning until lunch.

IMG_3148

I had leftover qunioa mixed with rice and beans from a dinner earlier in the week so I used that with a can of refried beans + salsa + cheese. You can put whatever you like in tacos in the burritos.

IMG_3149

My mom asked me how I heat them up because I obviously don’t heat them in the aluminum foil and why do I use aluminum foil? I like the foil because it wraps them up tightly and keeps that freezer taste out of them. It also unwraps fairly easy (compared to plastic wrap). I just unwrap them and heat them either on paper towel or a tupperware lid from something else in my lunch.

IMG_3151

This is an super quick and easy make ahead lunch and I am all about easy! Plus I feel better about eating these with the whole wheat tortillas, added veggies/ beans and controlled salt!

Easy Freezer Bean Burritos 

Adapted from Shutterbean

Ingredients: 

12 Whole wheat tortillas

1 Can Fat Free Refried Beans

Shredded cheddar or mozzerella cheese (I used a combination)

Jarred salsa

Quinoa/rice/corn/black beans, if desired

Directions: 

1. Tear of 12 squares of aluminum foil large enough for the tortilla

2. On top of each tortilla add a heaping tablespoon of refried beans and spread over the tortilla

3. Add cheese, salsa and quinoa/ bean mixture on top. Don’t fill it too much or it won’t fold up

4. Do a burrito fold! Now I am not an expert at this, mine were a bit weird looking. BUT as long as it closes completely it doesn’t matter how it looks :)

5. Label the outside with the contents (I wrote bean burrito on mine) and the date. Stick them in the freezer.

6. When you are ready to eat them heat in the microwave 2-3 minutes, depending on your microwave. The microwaves at the hospital are SUPER STRONG so I only heat mine for 1.5-2 minutes.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Freezer Burritos

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

  2. Pingback: ….What I Made | collegiate kitchen

  3. Pingback: Mea(t)l Prep – The Weekend Dietitian

Thoughts?